The Overmind: First single from debut album

The Overmind 2016 The Anthropic Principle album art

Durban, South Africa: as a movement, extreme Metal in this city has found itself on the upswing in recent years, a trend continued by local Slam/Deathcore band The Overmind.

The Anthropic Principle is the debut full length album by The Overmind, and follows on the heels of their 2015 Dissolution EP release. The band has let loose with a snatch from the soon-to-be released album in the form of their first single, ‘The Inquisitor’, which also features guest vocals by Australia’s Gravemind vocalist, Dylan Gillies-Parsons.

“Other guests to feature on the album include Jarrod Eagleton from Australian Deathcore band I Shall Devour and Rok Rupnik of Slovenian Brutal Deathcore/Slam band Within Destruction.” ~ Jethro May (guitar, The Overmind)

On the album and lyrical theme’s, Jethro describes The Anthropic Principle as relating to the Law of Human Existence.

“It is well known that our existence in this universe depends on numerous cosmological constants and parameters whose numerical values must fall within a very narrow range of values. If even a single variable were off, even slightly, we would not exist.” ~ Jethro May

The Anthropic Principle will become available in full worldwide via Brutal Gear and other digital platforms on 12th of August 2016, including all major digital stores such as iTunes, Amazon, Spotify, etc. In the meantime, the band has offered not only the single as preview, but also a track listing to whet appetites.

1. Macrocosmic Architects [Feat. Jarrod Eagleton of I Shall Devour]
2. Antithesis
3. Xenocide
4. Consumed
5. Transdimensional Collapse [Feat. Rok Rupnik of Within Destruction]
6. Abnegation
7. The Inquisitor [Feat. Dylan Gillies Parsons of Gravemind]
8. Intertemporal Retribution

Digital preorders and physical preorders are already open.

Connect with the band The Overmind on facebook
Connect with the band Gravemind on facebook
Connect with the band I Shall Devour on facebook
Connect with the band Within Destruction on facebook
Connect with this website’s True Believer funding initiative on facebook
Connect with the author Patrick Davidson on Google+